Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content

North Lake College Students Recognized for Leadership in Life and School with DCCCD LeCroy Scholarships

DALLAS – Eight high school and college students from throughout the Dallas metroplex have been named 2009-2010 LeCroy Scholarship recipients by the DCCCD Foundation for their outstanding leadership and academic achievements.

Two of these students, Taylor Alexandria Eubanks of Coppell and Alicia Warren of Grapevine, attend North Lake College.

The program honors DCCCD’s former chancellor, Dr. R. Jan LeCroy, who served in that capacity from 1981 to 1988. Each LeCroy Scholar receives up to $4,000 ($1,000 per semester, with a maximum of four semesters) to attend any of the DCCCD’s seven colleges: Brookhaven, Cedar Valley, Eastfield, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake or Richland.

Eubanks will attend North Lake College this fall to major in business. She graduated from Monticello (Ark.) High School in May 2009, where she was captain of the varsity cheerleading squad, was named Miss Monticello’s Outstanding Teen and received an honors diploma from her school. She also was named Student of the Year by the Family Career and Community Leaders of America and was a member of the gymnastics team, the Beta Club, the National Honor Society, Future Business Leaders of America, the Drama Club and the French Club. Eubanks also volunteered in her community before moving to Coppell this year. She wants to audition for the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders, and her long-range plans include pursuing a bachelor’s degree in business and marketing with an emphasis in advertising at the University of North Texas.

Warren plans to major in sports psychology and earn a doctorate so that she can help athletes concentrate mentally on competing and performance. An ardent skater, Warren serves as president of the North Lake College Figure Skating Club; she was president of the Dallas Figure Skating Club’s junior board in 2008 and started a skating club that qualified for the nationals. She currently has a 4.0 GPA.

The LeCroy Scholars fund was made possible by a grant established in 1988 by Mike A. Myers and the Mike Myers Foundation. A long-time Dallas business and civic leader, he provided funds to recognize LeCroy’s leadership. The program was the first major student recognition and incentive scholarship created for DCCCD. Myers currently is chairman and president of the Myers Financial Corporation.

Anyone who is interested in learning more about how to apply for a DCCCD LeCroy Scholarship can visit

For more information, contact Kathye Hammontree in the DCCCD Foundation office at (214) 378-1536.


Editor's note: for interviews, photo opportunities and media support, please contact Ali Adams, marketing and advertising coordinator, at 972-273-3005, or the North Lake College Public Information Office, 972-273-3004.

North Lake College is a member of the Dallas County Community College system. Educational opportunities are offered by the Dallas County Community College system without regard to race, color, age, national origin, religion, sex or sexual orientation.