Core Curriculum > Pre-Core Requirements > Texas Success Initiative

Texas Success Initiative

There are three components to the Texas Success Initiative (TSI):

  1. A pre-assessment activity
  2. An assessment to diagnose your basic skills in reading, math and writing
  3. Developmental instruction if needed

How do I find out if I’m exempt from requirements?

See exemptions to determine if you are exempt or waived from TSI requirements.

If I’m not exempt, which test should I take?

Each Dallas County Community College administers the pre-assessment activity and TSI assessment. Contact your Advising/Counseling Center about the pre-assessment activity before scheduling an appointment with the Testing Center to take the official TSI assessment.

Where do I get testing?


Contact the Testing Center at your college to schedule your assessment. On your test date, you will need:

What if I don’t pass?

If you do not pass a section of a TSI-approved assessment, speak with your advisor to learn about developmental course options.

Who can I contact if I have questions or want more information?

You’ll also find general information on our Assessment Testing Web page.